top of page

15.11.21- Concepts 2

While thinking about my game idea, I realised the concept was somewhat similar in theme to an art project I had previously done when I was taking a fine art course.

It centred around my previous experiences as a child with a "ghost".


When I was about 5 years old, almost every night, I would hear a male voice talking to me while I stared at the darkness of my bedroom. While I saw slender humanoid shadows walking around on my walls I knew the voice wasn’t them. The shadows felt dark and ominous like they were taken from a nightmare. But this voice was warm and gentle, his soft-spoken tone made me feel safe and soothed me. Every night I fell asleep to his voice.


Looking back on this experience now I believe it was childish overactive imagination as I was often making up imaginary friends or stories in my head, however, I still hold that time close to my heart and believe it was a needed comfort during my childhood.


Since this experience meant so much to me as a child, I did a series of images during my previous art course showing my experience with this ghost as he followed me throughout my life until I stopped hearing and seeing him as a young teenager.

I remember he was always in black and white with round glasses, the lenses always glowing bright white hiding most of his face. I thought this was coincidentally quite similar to the style of Limbo, as the main character is all black with white glowing eyes.


With such a similar theme to my original idea, I decided I wanted to use this story from my childhood as inspiration.


Looking back at the other inspirational material that I started my project with I saw that Ori and the Blind Forest had two main characters for a large section of the game, as the two characters help each other through the environment to reach the goal of the level.

Since this childhood ghost of mine was like a guardian and a comfort to me, I decided to have him in a similar role to the main characters of Ori and the Blind Forest. My idea was similar in that this main guardian character could have a companion that they had to guide and help through the levels, whether in the form of puzzles or protecting them as they go through the level.

Recent Posts

See All

Critical Analysis V2

Within this reflection of my work I will be critically looking back on everything was able to create as well as any obstacles that I...

コメント


bottom of page