top of page

Animatic planning

The song I decided to go with for this animatic project was Mary by The Happy Fits, which for the purpose of my animatic tells a love story between two characters. It starts out as a very shallow relationship with many secrets and issues, then transitions into a more genuine one, so these two phases split the song in half.

To visually show these two halves with the aesthetics and mood of the animation, while still keeping the characters mostly the same, I'll be using a light, pastel colour palette in the first half and a darker, more deeply saturated palette in the second half.


I first showed this idea in my planning by drawing these two characters in the story and experimenting with colours and tones for their outfits.

Alongside these character concepts, I also started to create a storyboard for the animatic to plan all the exact scenes that would go along with the lyrics. I planned on making these alongside the animatic itself, creating a few slides of the storyboard, going to animate those scenes, then returning to the storyboard and repeating that process until I completed the entire song. On the storyboard, the grey writing is the lyrics of the song while the black writing is notes to myself on what exactly is being shown in the slide.


תגובות


bottom of page