top of page

Digital Skills - First Ideas

Starting out this module, I had two ideas as to where I could take this project.

My first idea was of a digital comic/ visual novel and the second was an animatic to a song, both of which would be based on my original characters.


After some consideration of these two ideas, I decided I wanted to pursue the animatic since it would challenge my skills more than the comic. I was already very familiar with drawing characters and such which would be needed for the comic, however, I didn't have much experience in animation and it is an area I'd like to improve in.


I run a small community of roleplayers on Discord, and so altogether we have many worlds and characters that I could use for the animation. I often take inspiration from songs for my characters, which is perfect for this project, so this led to me looking through the many playlists of songs I have for characters.

This is the first notes I made as I looked through my playlists:

(Spotify links are attached to each song.)


  • Mary by The Happy Fits for Venus and Harry De Luca

    • Progression of a love story

    • Vampire vs human hunters universe, Blood Honour

    • Story of a vampire spying on hunters, pretending to be human. The vampire hunter and vampire spy fall in love, then the vampire turns the hunter into a vampire also


  • Gemini by Sam Williams for Renan Serra

    • Same vampire universe (Blood Honour) but focused around a vampiric magic scholar

    • Torn between using magic for selfish and sometimes cruel reasons or for good

    • A character that holds a lot of secrets, he previous worked beside royalty and is secretly in a relationship with the vampiric crown prince


  • Trial by Fire by Not Blood Paint for Remi Kadar

    • Mystical/ psychic universe

    • A spirit medium with a mission to find their dead lover’s spirit and be reunited, since spirits can attach to people

    • This medium is also essentially part of a cult- a group of people that uses psychic powers

  • The French Song by Not Blood Paint for Augustin Hardy and Marceline Lyon

    • Normal human universe, focused around crime, these two are con artists and assassins.

    • They’re a boyfriend and girlfriend duo from France

    • This song is what inspired me to make them in the first place and the lyrics tell a story of one of their exploits together using someone for money


  • Up in Smoke by Tigercub for Norah Cordova

    • Sci-fi/ cyberpunk world (The Eos Fleet)

    • A character with a dark past that’s currently in a somewhat extreme rebel group that fights the current tyrannical government

    • Would be a convoluted retelling of her story as she’s a very secretive character


  • Honour for All by Daniel Licht for The Cain Family

    • Blood Honour universe

    • A group of violent rebels against the vampiric royalty

    • Retelling their story of their previous fall from grace and introducing each character of the family

    • Previous advisors within the royal court, but with extreme opposing opinions and violent desires they were exiled

Σχόλια


bottom of page