top of page

Game Development - Enemy assets

After creating the two main characters of my concept, I then moved on to the enemy designs. Similar to all other art I've done for this game so far, I used brushes that had texture to them to keep within the painted and artistic style of the game.

Throughout my entire design process for this entire game, I've also kept the colours a running theme, being muted blue for the surroundings and characters and then read for the enemies. Having this stark contrast gives the enemies a sense of being unnatural like they shouldn't be within this world, and thus should be avoided.

This is why, after I had finished drawing this wolf-like enemy, I placed the image into a background I had already drawn for the game. This gave me a good idea of what all the final assets might look like together and if I was achieving the desired look I described above.

Final design:

Parts of the asset separated for animation later on:

As well as this wolf-like creature, after this cutscene encounter, I planned on the actual gameplay consisting of platforming where you have to keep up with the moving camera to stay alive and reach the end of the level. So to make this visually obvious, I made a second enemy asset of flames that could be animated on the side of the screen. Sharing the same colour palette as the wolf, and fire usually being associated with danger, the player would know to avoid it.

As well as the fire in this image, on a separate layer for sparks that could be animated separately later, however, this is the entire flat asset unanimated:


Recent Posts

See All

Critical Analysis V2

Within this reflection of my work I will be critically looking back on everything was able to create as well as any obstacles that I...

Comentários


bottom of page