top of page

Game programming

This section of the module, as is always the case when coding/ programming is required of me, is the part I struggled with the most. And is the section I always honestly hate doing. However, I did all I could.

While I did have other ideas for the genre of this game, I ended up not following those ideas simply due to my lack of knowledge and confidence in this area of the work. And so I followed a process very similar to one that I have done before with the help of tutorials and using Game Maker Studio as that's all I had access to at home, which is where I, unfortunately, had to do most of this module.


A majority of my programming work can be seen here, though I recommend increasing the playback speed:



After my first coding work, I ran the game for the first time and realised there was an issue with the character slowly sinking into the floor and I had no idea why. It took me a long time to find the fault in my code, but I eventually was able to correct it.

When adding in the background and attempting to add in the walking cycle, I again ran into plenty of issues that I did not know how to fix.

When uploading the walk cycle, the canvas was not large enough and the sprites were not far apart enough for the program to understand what I was asking it to do. Due to the way I had set up the initial canvas, I was not able to increase the size enough to one that would work for the animation.

The background I was able to upload it and make fit into the game, however, it was stretched awkwardly and the quality was somehow lowered. This was also the case with the sprite. I didn't understand why this was the case as I had drawn both in high quality on purpose to avoid this issue. To fix it, I would have to redraw a majority of my assets, and I just did not have time to do that.


Many issues aside, this is what I had at the end of this programming session:


Comments


bottom of page