top of page

Redirecting the project

While I did start out this module with the intention of creating a 2-3 minute long animatic to a song that inspired some characters of mine, however a lot of things suddenly didn't go to plan. Animating even in a messier animatic style was taking me far longer than I expected and I didn't even get past the first set of storyboard slides, which is only the first line of the song and a few seconds of animation. Despite this I had planned on continuing until my drawing app randomly crashed one day while animating then when I went back to it, the canvas I had been working on was glitched or corrupted. Whenever I tried to return to the project, it would crash the app again, and the rest of the app seemed to be lagging also.

Since I was now unable to go back to the project, I couldn't retrieve the automatic timelapse that the app takes for me to evidence my work, and I couldn't get the work itself. I was at a loss for what to do next. All I have left is this very brief screen recording from the very beginning of the project, which shows me animating the very first slide from the storyboard along with some references to help as I was struggling at first.

After this recording, I started to rely on the built-in record feature with the app, but this shows what my process was for a majority of the editing with the assistance of references sometimes.


With all my animation work gone, and so taking a majority of my project with it, I realised after some struggling to try to retrieve my old work unsuccessfully that I would need to make a plan B. I had significantly less time now considering how long I had spent on my now lost animation but I eventually came up with a second product that I could make hopefully in less time while still being similar in nature to my original work.


This drawing below, both a sketch and full colour, is another of my characters. She is a demonic character that I call "Iris".

This character design is somewhat old, so I considered doing some redesign work and also adding in some animation elements. However, instead of tackling something as ambitious as I did before, I considered mostly just animating her hair, eyes and possibly her clothing slightly. I could have these movements on a loop, in the form of a video or a GIF. This would mean I wouldn't need to animate any major anatomy like before, which is very time-consuming, but I could still hopefully make a successful animation project like I wanted to since it is an entirely new skill for me which has challenged the skills I already have.

Σχόλια


bottom of page