top of page

Sound: First ideas/inspirations

Having decided on which story I was going to create for my game, I now had the base to start building work on for sound production. And sound production is one of the main reasons I decided to go with this project idea.


As mentioned before in other blog posts, this story is based in a dystopian cyberpunk setting within a gang of activists and rebels. They’re called “The Keys” due to their methods of hiding contraband in musical instrument cases and their association with old-fashioned jazz music along with that overall classic aesthetic. While the overall look and feel of this group of people highly contrast the rest of the setting, I went to effectively combine the two in both visuals and sound production. So for this module of work, similar to the visuals, my first action to take was to find inspiration.


For the cyberpunk part of this setting, I already knew where my main inspiration would likely come from.

I am a very big fan of the Watch_Dogs games, and while they are not set in a more modern and current world setting, the music I believe is amazing at creating a feel befitting a cyberpunk world. I regularly listen to the first two Watch_Dogs soundtracks purely because I enjoy them so much, so it was certainly a place of inspiration for me.


My second source of hopeful inspiration that I was planning I wasn’t as familiar with. Jazz and classic ragtime music had never been of interest to me until now, however, I wanted to have at least a frame of reference for the type of music this group in the story was so strongly linked to.

So I did plenty of Googling- as well as asking my best friend who studied music production and is like a song encyclopedia for help.

After this joint effort research, I started to create a playlist on YouTube of well-known jazz songs. And I surprised myself with how much I enjoyed listening to some of it, making it much easier to find inspiration later on in the project.



Comentários


bottom of page