top of page

Soundtrack and SFX creation

After all my experimenting when I finally felt comfortable using Audacity, I started to make my first soundtrack. This track was mostly intended to just be for a title screen and was some simple music and ambience I wanted to play on a loop in the background.


I started out by grabbing various samples from Arcade, some intended for this soundtrack and others for plans that I may attempt later which were far more complicated ideas.

After collecting any samples I liked I started putting a few together and experimenting with the sounds until they started to sound like what I envisioned.

A later addition to this soundtrack was adding the ambience in the background which you can see my search for in the video. I hadn't originally thought of adding this, however I thought using these types of sounds helps set the scene and so it may be useful for the opening title where I intended for this soundtrack to be used.


After finishing this first soundtrack I started to edit the sound effects that I had been collecting and recording with my phone. In this video below is just a couple examples of me recording these sounds, such as the footsteps and gun reload/ clicking sounds which I used my headphones case for. I also recorded footsteps with a few different pairs of shoes, knowing they sound somewhat different and that each of my characters would likely walk in a different way.

And here this is me editing the sound effects for the gun in audacity. From my recording a took various different variations of the sound. I didn't do much editing to them besides cleaning up the audio to remove white noise, equalising the loudness and removing any silent parts of sounds that I didn't like.


Opmerkingen


bottom of page