top of page

Various audio app testing

After some simple experimentation in Arcade, I started to look for an app to work with that could edit all the samples together for me to create my soundtrack. I struggled quite a bit at first. I tried out FL Studios, Adobe Audition, Audacity, and even an app on my iPad called Sound Lab.

I ran into a similar roadblock to one that I often experience in most of my work revolving around programming and the use of programs like this. I find it very difficult to understand them, and I'm easily overwhelmed by how complicated they look and how often I can't get things to quickly work.


The first app I tried was FL studios. The first issue I ran into was one that had also happened in the previous year with my game development: I couldn't drag and drop anything. This was due to some kind of error on my computer that doesn't allow me to do this, which made certain functions of FL Studios unusable to me. I still tried to work around it, however during my experimentation which is at the end of the video below, I in fact got an error message and my entire computer ended up freezing due to FL, causing me to lose quite a bit of work that I had partially finished in the background of this as well as everything I had done in FL. It was at this point I switch to Audacity.



The issue I ran into with Audacity was the fact that I couldn't get the recording part of it to work, no matter how many times I changed the settings. At the time I didn't have another application to record internal audio from my computer, so I once again moved on to other apps.

I tried Auditon after this, however, the screen recording failed. But I didn't achieve much as I found it too confusing to understand. During that experimentation however, I did also find a different app to record audio with.


I briefly tried out an app on my iPad: Sound Lab. However I also stopped using this since I had to pay for it to get much done.


After all these failed experiments I finally went back to Audacity and started to make some progress on that application after some research and watching tutorials.

Comments


bottom of page